Management reporting and documentation
sidkipper
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Simon Strutt

VM's with high CPU Ready

Post by sidkipper »

(I'm new to Reporter, so have probably missed something obvious, apologies in advance)

I've been trying to generate a report showing all VM's that have been experiencing high CPU ready times (say above 1000ms) for a particular time period, without much luck, and suspect I'm going about it the wrong way.

I've generated various reports using the following as a base, but I always end up with a graph loads of VM's and its impossible to tell which of those are actually suffering.
  • Report Pack: Performance report pack
    Report: VM Performance (template)
    Performance Counter:CPU Read
Is there a way to generate a table rather than a graph, with a filter to exclude VM's with low CPU Ready times? Or another suggested method?
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: VM's with high CPU Ready

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello Simon,

Yes, I agree that it might be difficult to figure out what VMs are actually suffering from high CPU Ready, that is why we are introducing a new, more detailed report pack in the next release which is scheduled for Q4.

Meanwhile, if you're interested in detecting VMs with high CPU Ready, you can deploy Veeam Monitor and run a corresponding report from there. Free version of Veeam Monitor is also capable to do that.

By the way, do you have any other reports you would like to see in Veeam Reporter?

Thanks.
sidkipper
Novice
Full Name: Simon Strutt

Post by sidkipper »

Thanks - nice to know I wasn't being blind!

From what I've tried to do so far I think the capacity/resource management side of things could be beefed up, for example...

Being able to detect over-provisioned VM's (too much/many vCPU's, memory, thick disk space)
- EG A report might show VM's with multiple vCPU's, that never use more than say 30% CPU