Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
sandroalves
Expert
Liked: 4 times
Full Name: Sandro da Silva Alves

Granular Restore

Post by sandroalves »

Hello friends,

I'm still a beginner in the Veeam product and so I still ask some basic questions, but my intention is to confirm whether my understanding is right or wrong.

Does Veeam back up granular without an agent or with an agent?

In the case of linux do I need the agent to restore granular?

Is there any need for an agent for specific cases, such as Active Directory, SQL or Linux Oracle for example?

Thanks.
Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Liked: 683 times
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev

Re: Granular Restore

Post by Egor Yakovlev »

Hi Sandro.

1. Backup granularity depends:
- without agent, it will be granular down to a Virtual Disk - that is, you don't need to backup entire VM, but can select only special .vmdk of yours.
- without agent, you can also skip certain guest OS files using Exclude masks. Be careful with this feature, as it increases backup time.
- with agent you can go granular down to a specific file\folder inside guest OS, giving you deepest level of backup granularity there is.

2. To Restore data, you don't need agent at all. Veeam Backup and Replication can read backup content and restore anywhere by network, that is, you can set \\server\disk$\folder as a destination, and only to provide correct access credentials for us to make it happen!

3. If we are talking virtual environment here, no agent is needed to backup virtual servers like AD, SQL, Oracle so on. You get full power of image-level backup and all granular restore features down to an application item(like AD users, MS SQL tables, Oracle DBs so on).

/Cheers!
sandroalves
Expert

Post by sandroalves »

Hi,

yes, my environment is fully virtualized with vsphere.

For linux virtual servers does granular restore also apply? Or do I need a linux proxy or something similar to have granular?

Thanks.
Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software