Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
evander
Enthusiast
Liked: 5 times

Veeam coexist with VDR plus Virtual Appliance Mode Question

Post by evander »

Hi - I am new to the Veeam revolution :-) so I have a couple quick questions that I have tried searching for but still not 100% sure about.

First Question:
I have Vmware VDR currently running and its doing well, however I bought and would like to implement Veeam, but I would actually like to keep VDR running at the same time. It may sound strange but I cant think of any particular reason why two backups arent better than one. I have enough processing power and only a handful of Virtual Machines to backup. So my plan is to run VDR locally on my production Vmware environment and also have Veeam running on my Distaster Recovery Site. Essentially local backups and remote backups.
What I am unsure about though is if the two will conflict with each other? I am assuming if they are both running at the same time, against the same VM they both will try create snapshots and it will be an issue right? but if they are scheduled to run at different times this wont be a problem, correct?
What about CBT - from the Sticky FAQ, it seems this wont be a problem at all, so thats good.
Are there any other issues I need to consider for this coexist setup?

Second Question:
From my reading up on the subject, am I correct in saying I cant use Virtual Appliance Mode if my Virtual box running Veeam is running at the DR site pulling backups from the Primary Site? The wording in the sticky FAQ says: "No special configuration is needed for VM. Host running Veeam Backup VM must have all datastores where processed VMs reside connected to it"