Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
marcio.ligi
Enthusiast
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Marcello

How To Backup Widows 7 including OS+Software installed but without private data?

Post by marcio.ligi »

Hi there! I'm new to Veeam.
I need To Backup a Widows 7 PC (ready with all software) including OS+Software installed but without private data all in a ISO image.
This to have an iso image ready when I need to set up PC for a new employee, with all needed software. I would make a backup from a ready PC owned by another employee, but I don't need to backup all his personal data, files and folders.
I have installed Veeam Agent for Windows, so basically from my understanding I have to firstly create a job and select the first option, which backs up entire PC, then I go on select folder, device etc, then it creates an ISO file.
But it doesn't let me exclude personal data and folders? like whatever is on desktop, or documents etc... I won't need all of that, also I won't need any user or maybe only the admin user on that PC, but maintaining all windows and network settings.
Would this be possible?
In alternative I could use the 3rd option, File level backup, but in this way it won't include the OS with all related configurations right?
How can I do? What do you recommend?

Thanks
HannesK
Product Manager
Liked: 2890 times
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick

Re: How To Backup Widows 7 including OS+Software installed but without private data?

Post by HannesK » 1 person likes this post

Hello,
if you want to do bare metal restore, then you need to back up "entire PC" or at least "operating system" (file based backup)

If the personal files are located on drive C:\, then block based backup cannot exclude these folders.

Various exclusion options are described in https://www.veeam.com/kb3236