Maintain control of your Microsoft 365 data
vnewbie99
Influencer
Liked: 2 times

Error setting up an orgnaization in Veeam for O365

Post by vnewbie99 »

Hi,

I am new to Veeam and this is my first setup. I am trying to set up Veeam for O365 for SharePoint Online backups. When I create a new organization, I select only SharePoint Online (no Exchange) and use "Modern Authentication and Legacy Protocols" because our tenant does not have Security Defaults enabled. Per Veeam requirement, the service account I use in the new Organization setup has MFA enabled and app password set (my understanding is in order to use app password, MFA must be enabled for the service account). I proceed with the Veeam's Add Organization wizard to verify connection. It connects to Microsoft Graph and SharePoint fine but the 3rd action "Connect to PowerShell" failed. The error is "Connect to PowerShell: Connecting to remote sever outlook.office365.com failed with the following error message : Access is denied." I have three questions:

1. Why does it try to connect to Outlook.office365.com? I don't need to back up Exchange Online at this moment. Is it required? If so, is there a way to tell what permissions are needed for the service account to connect?

2. In https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/ ... -passwords, it mentions administrative actions via PowerShell won't work with app passwords. Is Veeam trying to perform administrative action? The wizard ask for service account username and app password, not a regular user password.

"After Azure AD Multi-Factor Authentication is enabled on a user's account, app passwords can be used with most non-browser clients like Outlook and Microsoft Skype for Business. However, administrative actions can't be performed by using app passwords through non-browser applications, such as Windows PowerShell. The actions can't be performed even when the user has an administrative account.