Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
DSPGuy
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Jerome Viviano

Can't Set Repository to Shared Drive

Post by DSPGuy »

I'm new to Veeam Agent, so I may be doing something incorrectly. When attempting to set up my first backup job on my Windows 10 Home edition PC, I'm having trouble setting the repository directory to a shared USB drive connected to another Windows computer on my home LAN. The permissions are wide open on the shared drive, and I write to it without issue with other applications, including other backup utilities. It fails in more than one way that I'm trying to access it.
1) In setting up the back-up drive, I get to the part which asks for destination. If I select "Shared folder" and click next, I click on "Browse". I get an error message "Loading devices.. Last error: The list of servers for this workgroup is not currently available". If instead of browsing to it, I just enter the path to the drive "\\JERRY-THINK\Solo G3", and then click "Next", I get the error message, "Access is denied. Failed to create or open file.". I get the same error message whether i enter logon credentials or not. My other apps do not require log on credentials.
2) If, instead of selecting "Shared Folder", I select local storage and browse to the same root folder on the shared drive, I get the error message, "Invalid folder path.". Or if I just enter the path "\\JERRY-THINK\Solo G3", and click next, I get the same "Invalid folder path." error message.

I do not understand why it will not let me set the path to the root of a shared drive. Thinking that it did not like the fact that I was setting the repository to a root folder, at one point I did add a folder into the root drive and tried setting the repository into that folder, but that did not help either. Does anyone have any suggestions as to why I can't set the repository to this network drive?