Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
PeteMan
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Peter LeBlanc

NAS to Tape Full vs Incremental

Post by PeteMan »

Hi - I am new to Veeam and have successfully completed a full backup of my Synology NAS files and I have also setup weekly incremental backups. I saw something about forever incremental backups but don't see how they work or if this is something that I have to set up.

What I would like to do is have my full backup completed every 6 months as our data doesn't change much but a weekly or even daily backup that I would not have to go back through all of the tapes to recover all of the data if there is major data lost.

That said "Incremental" doesn't seem to be the right term, I would like to have a differential backup so that all of the difference from the full backup are backed up on a regular basis. Is this done by the settings of the Media set or expiration of the data retention?

So be clear I would like to be able to take my full backup, do either a daily or weekly backup and be able to restore all of the files without having to go back lets say 20 tapes if something would happen in 4 months from now?

Is this possible?
HannesK
Product Manager
Liked: 2890 times
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick

Re: NAS to Tape Full vs Incremental

Post by HannesK » 1 person likes this post

Hello,
and welcome to the forums

first of all: Veeam is built for image based backups of VMs, physical machines and NAS data to disk. I emphasize: to disk

As you managed to bring your NAS to tape with "file-to-tape" functionality, I assume that it is a very small filer. So that might work. But the software is not built for that!

When we talk about incremental forever backups, then we talk about backup to disk with our NAS-backup functionality: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=100

I recommend the following
1) check our NAS backup functionality