Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
leockw
Influencer
Liked: 3 times
Full Name: Leo

Synthetic Full Backup

Post by leockw »

Dear all,

I'm new to V&R and I would like to clarify some concept on Synthetic Full Backup.

1. As I know, in a job setting synthetic full backup only can select the day in a week, can I use Synthetic Full Backup for monthly backup(eg.1 full + 29/30 incremental)?

2. If no synthetic full backup for monthly, then, when I make a Backup Copy Job as offsite backup, the backup copy job still need to copy all weekly full backup to offsite?

3. If use backup copy job for a backup job(full->incre) to offsite, the first full backup need copy to offsite over one day and overlap the incremental backup job, will it waiting the "full backup" to offsite completed and start to copy the "incremental backup" to offsite?

Leo
PetrM
Veeam Software
Liked: 528 times
Full Name: Petr Makarov

Re: Synthetic Full Backup

Post by PetrM »

Hi Leo,

1. Basically, you may configure GFS retention policy, monthly backups will be synthesized from already existing backups.

2. Backup copy does not copy backup files but always transfers the actual state of machines in backup. This actual state consists of blocks from the latest incremental chain, for example: last full + incrementals.

3. If incremental backup job run is started and locks a restore point on source while backup copy is running: backup copy job pauses data transfer, waits for incremental run completion and resumes transfer.

Thanks!
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Post by foggy »

Hi Leo, welcome and please review the answers below.

1. Monthly synthetic fulls are not an option, here's another existing thread on that matter.
2. Backup copy job doesn't copy entire backup files but rather only blocks required to build the new restore point on a target, regardless of what the latest source restore point on source is - full or incremental.