jmc
Service Provider
Liked: 8 times
Full Name: jmc

BC: only the old restore points

Post by jmc »

hello all,

I have a question or a task to the following facts:

A B&R 11a with primary repository contains data of a vm of 365 days the job is set to 1 year. among them are also 52 full backups. i now want to swap the full backups out of an archive repository. but only those that are older than 365 days. so those full backups that would fall out in the rotation now.

in summary, veeam should have the current 365 days on the primary storage and the older ones on the archive.

with a normal copy job it backup all data to the archive storage, the old ones older than 1 year AND the newer ones that i don't want there.

what can i do without having to use a powershell script. i am not a PS programmer.

thanks
jeff
Everybody ask why the dinosaurs are gone - nobody ask why they are lived so long
PetrM
Veeam Software
Liked: 528 times
Full Name: Petr Makarov

Re: BC: only the old restore points

Post by PetrM »

Hi Jeff,

Would you be so kind to clarify what storage do you use as an archive repository? If it's an object storage, you can add it as an extent to the Scale-Out Backup Repository and offload data older than the specified number of days to the Capacity Tier using Move policy.

If it's a standard on-premise repository, then backup copy with GFS might be a better approach: you can store the desired number of yearly backups and respect the 3-2-1 rule at the same time.

Thanks!
jmc
Service Provider

Post by jmc »

hello PetrM,