Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
2Tall
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Philip Horan

Tape Backup - Achive Bit

Post by 2Tall »

Hi to all. I am new to Veeam and am using version 5. I still have a requirement to backup to tape (daily / weekly). I have 2 Veeam Backup Jobs. Both Veeam jobs are scheduled for incrementals Mon-Sat then a Full on Sunday (retention 14 days). The target is a HP StorageWorks D2D2504i - G2.

I have 2 jobs configured in Symantec Backup Exec 2010 R3 (Veeam Daily that backs up .vib and Veeam Weekly that backs up .vbk). I have chosen Symantec Include/Exclude Option 'Only Modified Files'.

I note that the .vib and .vbk files on the D2D box have the Archive Bit set. Symantec therefore backs up all files and does not reset the Archive Bit. This gives me a a headache as I do not have capacity on tape to backup all .vbk files in my weekly backup to tape.

Veeam support advised me to try the forums so here I am :)

I would appreciate any input on how I can continue with tape backups as required. If you require any further information I am happy to provide it.
Kind Regards,
Phil.
Sethbartlett
Veteran
Liked: 26 times
Full Name: Seth Bartlett

Re: Tape Backup - Achive Bit

Post by Sethbartlett »

Instead of going off of archive bit, why not have a script that grabs the latest VIB or latest full(depending on the day)?
Skype: Sethbartlett88 - Make sure to label who you are and why you want to add me ;)
Twitter: @sethbartlett
If my post was helpful, please like it. Sometimes twitter is quicker to hit me up if you need me.
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Philip,

I do not have enough expertise in using BE, but I'm pretty sure there should be an option to use file masks to filter and offload only *.vib or *vbk files to tapes. Can you check that?

Besides, here is an existing topic, that would allow you to pick up the latest file created and move it to tapes.

Thanks.
2Tall