hoabd
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: bui dinh hoa

Copy job doesn't see mapped drives

Post by hoabd »

Hi everyone,

I'm new to VBR here.
Is it possible for VBR to see mapped drives in general?
My scenario is that, since VBR doesn't support to backup files from mapped drives directly to Cloud repository. So I was creating a copy job to copy files from mapped drive to local, then push it to cloud repository. It was working at first tho.
Then after couple of months, we encountered this error:

So, my question is, is that possible for a copy job on VBR to see mapped drives? If yes, please show me how.
FYI, in my VBR server.

Thanks in advance.
HannesK
Product Manager
Liked: 2890 times
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick

Re: Copy job doesn't see mapped drives

Post by HannesK » 1 person likes this post

Hello,
and welcome to the forums.

If you are new, I recommend to start with the quick start guide.

Mapped drives are not needed normally, but let's figure out what is really needed :-)
since VBR doesn't support to backup files from mapped drives directly to Cloud repository.
What kind of backups is it about? VMware, Hyper-V, physical agents, NAS shares or something else (Oracle RMAN etc.)? What kind of "cloud repository" is it about? Veeam cloud connect backup or (Amazon) S3 / Azure / Google object storage?

What kind of storage do you have to store your backup job data? A Windows standalone server with local disks (best case)? Anything else?

What is the goal? Keeping backups locally for fast backup / restore and copy and / or move old backup to the cloud?

Best regards,
Hannes
hoabd
Novice

Post by hoabd »

Hi HannesK,

Thanks for replying quickly.
My goal is to backup "folders and files" to store it on Veeam cloud connect backup from a SMB network shared folder (mapped drive), as shown in the picture above.
What I'm trying to do is:
- Create a copy job to copy files from mapped drive to local drive