Management reporting and documentation
jantman
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Jason Antman

Reporter

Post by jantman »

Hi, we just installed reporter 4.0.2.308 on a VM with 2 vCPUs (2.4GHz ea) and 4GB RAM. We've added one vCenter server with 4 hosts in one cluster, 13 VMs and 9 datastores - a pretty small subset of our full VI.

I'm just beginning to play around with Reporter. I ran the Cluster Overview in the Getting To Know pack, and saved it. I then tried to add it to my Dashboard. I got the "Please Wait" message with the spinning circle, and that stayed up on screen for 6 minutes and 17 seconds, and then it just displayed "The resource you are looking for has been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable.". If I click back to workspace and then back to dashboard, the report shows up, but shows only CPU and Storage, not memory. The report also shows the graphs near-full-screen, so I need to scroll down to see the second.

So, my questions:
1) Is report generation usually this slow? My VM isn't going over 65% CPU or 50% RAM, so why does it take 6+ minutes to generate an overview of a very small cluster?
2) Is it normal to have bugs like having to switch to Workspace and then back to Dashboard to see a report?
3) Is there any way to easily resize the widget, so it displays all on one screen?

Thanks,
Jason
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2720 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Reporter

Post by Vitaliy S. »

jantman wrote:1) Is report generation usually this slow? My VM isn't going over 65% CPU or 50% RAM, so why does it take 6+ minutes to generate an overview of a very small cluster?
No, it's not expected. Could you please tell me where is your SQL Server with SSRS deployed, is it on the same VM with Reporter?
jantman wrote:2) Is it normal to have bugs like having to switch to Workspace and then back to Dashboard to see a report?
No, it's definitely worth contacting our support team for further investigation.