Maintain control of your Microsoft 365 data
TitaniumCoder477
Veteran
Liked: 48 times
Full Name: James Wilmoth

[Feature request] Change log location

Post by TitaniumCoder477 »

BNR points to C:\Temp\Logs. Could we please have VBO's default updated from C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Temp\logs to C:\Temp\Logs instead too?
Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Liked: 1263 times
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Feature request - Change log location

Post by Mike Resseler »

Hi @TitaniumCoder477

I personally don't like C:\Temp. As a former IT administrator I was very keen on cleaning temp folders to keep my servers clean and smooth. Is the only reason you want this because VBR points to it? Or are there other reasons?

Trying to understand why this request

Thanks
Mike
TitaniumCoder477
Veteran

Post by TitaniumCoder477 » 1 person likes this post

Both are temp locations. Makes no sense to hide the logs, buried in some obscure path. C:\Temp is so much more accessible. Half the time I click right past that path and then I'm like, "Oh heck, where was that path again?" and have to go through the wizard again just to find it. I would much rather have things consistent and pointing to a simplistic path. Even C:\Windows\Temp would be better, in my opinion. The logs should not have secrets in the clear, so I don't think there's a security issue at hand. It's easier to remember to cleanup C:\Temp\ than the other, obscure user temp path.
chris.childerhose
Veeam Vanguard
Liked: 132 times
Full Name: Chris Childerhose

Post by chris.childerhose » 1 person likes this post

Another location that might work for this would be where the job logs are stored - C:\ProgramData\Veeam maybe? This seems to be the central location for many logs so why not this as well. Just a suggestion.
-----------------------
Chris Childerhose
Veeam Vanguard / Veeam Legend / Veeam Ceritified Architect / VMCE
vExpert / VCAP-DCA / VCP8 / MCITP
Personal blog: https://just-virtualization.tech
Twitter: @cchilderhose