Discussions related to using object storage as a backup target.
0c0nn0r
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Ted O'Connor

Not seeing anything going to Capacity Tier in SOBR

Post by 0c0nn0r »

I'm new to SOBR so I likely have something misconfigured but for the life of me can't figure out what. I'm testing out an S3-compatible backup repository as my capacity tier. I've used the instructions from Wasabi (https://wasabi-support.zendesk.com/hc/e ... th-Wasabi-) since they were very detailed. I have both the copy and move options checked for the capacity tier. My backup job is then just backing up a folder from my local machine to the SOBR. Everything reports as successful but nothing is ever sent to the S3-compatible storage. I've even deleted all the backups to force full backups again with no luck.

Any thoughts on why no files are going there or where to look for possible errors?
ronnmartin61
Veeam Software
Liked: 128 times
Full Name: Ronn Martin

Re: Not seeing anything going to Capacity Tier in SOBR

Post by ronnmartin61 »

When you say
backing up a folder from my local machine to the SOBR
are you possibly using a file copy job? That would explain why nothing is tiering out...
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2257 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Post by veremin »

If Ted's followed Wasabi configuration document, he now has a VM backup job (possibly with file exclusion configured). I'm wondering what makes you think that nothing has been copied to object storage? Are there no offload sessions in History node? Don't you see the corresponding Object Storage node in backups view? Anything else? Thanks!
0c0nn0r
Novice

Post by 0c0nn0r »

ronnmartin61 wrote: Apr 11, 2022 9:44 pm are you possibly using a file copy job? That would explain why nothing is tiering out...