Discussions related to using object storage as a backup target.
Frosty
Expert
Liked: 43 times
Full Name: Stephen Frost

First time SOBR with Azure Blob Storage

Post by Frosty »

Hi all,
I'm a newbie to SOBR and have set up a test backup which is copying (immediately after the backup finishes) into an Azure Storage account. It is all working fine, but I have a couple of questions about configs, data copying and storage efficiency, etc. I've looked at a bunch of YT vids and have learned as much as I can, but some of the technical detail escapes me.
Q1. does it really make any difference whether my backups are Reverse Incremental (which is what I've normally used until now) or should I be using some other approach?
Q2. when looking at the storage account, there are a lot of files appearing there which look to be like "blocks" of changed data. Is that what it's doing? i.e. only copying up the changes from each new backup?
Thanks,
Steve
Mildur
Product Manager
Liked: 2223 times
Full Name: Fabian K.

Re: First time SOBR with Azure Blob Storage

Post by Mildur »

Hi Steve
Q1. does it really make any difference whether my backups are Reverse Incremental (which is what I've normally used until now) or should I be using some other approach?
I would use always forward incremental. But for the capacity tier with copy policy, the mode is not relevant. Reverse incremental is also fine.
Q2. when looking at the storage account, there are a lot of files appearing there which look to be like "blocks" of changed data. Is that what it's doing? i.e. only copying up the changes from each new backup?
Correct, only changed blocks are offloaded after the first offload was done. In the object storage, you won‘t have „files“, only blocks of this backup files.
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Post by veremin »