Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
dxhahn
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Dan Hahn

Veeam v6 and SQL backups

Post by dxhahn »

I've spent a while reading the user guide and searching the forums and haven't found a clear answer to this question. So if anyone has expertise or can point me to another post or document explaining it then I'll be very thankful.

I'm a MSSQL DBA (2005/2008) and I'm working with our storage / systems admin to get Veeam backups working on the development SQL servers (and eventually production). I have no desire to replace our native SQL backups (full nightly + 30 minute tlogs) and use Veeam for SQL backups. I can't think of a good reason to take the extra steps to restore backups from a VM backup when I have a mature and fully functional process writing backups to an easily accessible disk every 30 minutes. It seems that everynight when Veeam runs it uses VSS to create a sql backup (shows up in MSDB along with the TSQL backup). Is it possible to have Veeam backup the entire VM without creating separate SQL backups of every database?

Regards.
chrisdearden
Veteran
Liked: 226 times
Full Name: Chris Dearden

Re: Veeam v6 and SQL backups

Post by chrisdearden »

you'll need to change the advanced settings on the Veeam backup Job for your SQL boxes to not truncate transaction logs after the backup. This is part of our VSS integration. Of course if you need to grab a backup from beyond your local retained backups , then Veeam will be quite handy. That said depending on the size of those SQL backups, you could be creating a lot of additional data for your image level backups. Being a former DBA myself I understand where you are coming from on this :)
dxhahn
Novice

Post by dxhahn »

I verified with our admin that we do have the log truncation turned off, anyone have any idea about completely disabling those VSS initiated SQL backups? or is that just part of the image backup that has to be done?
dxhahn
Novice

Post by dxhahn »