Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
ChristLogan
Novice
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Christian YOULOU

activate the "Rotated Drives" function with two external drives that will be connected to the server backup

Post by ChristLogan »

Hello,
I am new to using veeam backup & replication and I want to use two external rotating disks to be changed every 3 weeks.
These external hard drives will be connected directly to the server.

But I don't know how to do it especially for the Jobs configuration. I have configured a repository and I activated the rotation function of the drives on this repository.

Objective was to make an incremental reverse unfortunately I do not use a VM, I'm on a physical machine running Windows server 2022.

Please help me, it's for an internship and it's urgent.
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: activate the "Rotated Drives" function with two external drives that will be connected to the server backup

Post by veremin » 1 person likes this post

But I don't know how to do it especially for the Jobs configuration. I have configured a repository and I activated the rotation function of the drives on this repository.
This should be enough for backup server to recognize rotated repository and apply corresponding logic to it. Might be worth increasing retention period due to these reasons. Thanks!
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: activate the "Rotated Drives" function with two external drives that will be connected to the server backup

Post by foggy » 1 person likes this post

Hi Christian, rotated drives should work automatically and be identified upon the drive change once you properly add the repositories in Veeam B&R. Don't recommend to go with reverse incremental due to performance reasons though.
ChristLogan
Novice

Post by ChristLogan »