PowerShell script exchange
amedjber
Influencer
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: MEDJBER Assalas

Restore VM into GCP via PowerShell

Post by amedjber »

Hi,

I'm a student from France trying to restore a VM from Veeam Backup & Replication to GCP by using a PowerShell script, aiming to automate this task in the future.
I found a script on youtube of a person doing exactly what I'm looking for, so I tried to understand the script and copied it with my values.

I had first many errors, that I debugged step by step. I'm now like "blocked" with an error that I don't understand :

Code: Select all

Start-VBRVMRestoreToGoogleCloud : Cannot validate argument on parameter 'RestorePoint'. The argument is null. Provide a valid value for the argument, 
and then try running the command again.
At C:\Users\sa_veeam\Documents\Test script.ps1:12 char:47
+ Start-VBRVMRestoreToGoogleCloud -RestorePoint $restorepoint -Zone $gc ...
+                                               ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : InvalidData: (:) [Start-VBRVMRestoreToGoogleCloud], ParameterBindingValidationException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : ParameterArgumentValidationError,Veeam.Backup.PowerShell.Cmdlets.StartVBRVMRestoreToGoogleCloud

Here is my PowerShell script :

$gcpaccount = Get-VBRGoogleCloudComputeAccount -Name "xxxxxx"
$gcpregion = Get-VBRGoogleCloudComputeRegion -Account $gcpaccount -Name "europe-west1"
$gcpzone = Get-VBRGoogleCloudComputeZone -Region $gcpregion -Name "europe-west1-b"
$gcptype = Get-VBRGoogleCloudComputeInstanceType -Zone $gcpzone -Name "e2-small"
$gcpvpc = Get-VBRGoogleCloudComputeVPC -Account $gcpaccount -Name "default"
$gcpsubnet = Get-VBRGoogleCloudComputeSubnet -VPC $gcpvpc -Region $gcpregion -Name "default"
$restorepoint = Get-VBRRestorePoint -Name "xxxxxxx" | Sort-Object $_.creationtime -Descending | Select -First 1
$gcpdisk = New-VBRGoogleCloudComputeDiskConfiguration -Diskname "xxxxxx.vmdk" -DiskType StandardPersistent
$gcprestoredVMname = "testRestoredVM"