Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
DarkCorner
Novice
Liked: never

Some advice for my first installation

Post by DarkCorner »

This is my first time in Veeam and I want to use the B&R Community Edition.

In the office there are: 4 PCs Win10, 1 ESXi 6.7 Server (Free Edition), 1 VM Win10, 1 VM WinSrv 2016, 1 VM Debian Server.

At my disposal for Veeam I have a Win10 PC.

For the target I wanted to use a PC with 3GB WD Red 3HDD.
On this I wanted to install a NAS software in Debian (Openmediavault) to manage the 3 disks in RAID5 with ext4.
Or I install a NAS software in FreeBSD (TrueNAS Core) to manage the 3 disks in RAID-Z1 with ZFS.
On the target then I would enable one or more shared folders in SMB.

I wanted your opinion on this configuration and some advice.

I would also like to understand.
  1. Do I have to install agents on the 4 PCs? What about ESXi and its VMs?
  2. On the "Target" PC, can the backups be saved in a single folder or in different folders, one for PC and VM? In other words, is Veeam responsible for keeping backups separate?
HannesK
Product Manager
Liked: 2890 times
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick

Re: Some advice for my first installation

Post by HannesK »

Hello,
and welcome to the forums.

1. yes, agents are needed everywhere, because the ESXi is free edition which has the backup API locked
2. per backup job there is one folder. per machine, there will be one file. so even if you add the 4 PCs in one job, there will still be 4 files per backup run (4 fulls, 4 increments etc.). If you create 7 jobs, then there would be 7 folders.

The agent management guide might be interesting for you.

Best regards,
Hannes
DarkCorner
Novice

Post by DarkCorner »

Hello Hannes, thank you for your answer.
About the PC for repository, what do you suggest? RAID 5 with ext4 or RAID-Z1 with ZFS?
HannesK
Product Manager

Post by HannesK » 1 person likes this post

Hello,