Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
bdoe
Enthusiast
Liked: 14 times
Full Name: Bryan

Setting up Enterprise Manager

Post by bdoe »

I have been using VBR for several years, so I am familiar with running one server with multiple proxies and repositories. I now need to stand up a new VBR environment across multiple sites, with varying connectivity and storage needs. I have access to Enterprise Manager. While the plan is still coming together, my thought is set up each VBR server independently and use the VEM to manage them. I hope to use different sites as secondary backup locations, but it may not be feasible due to the ISP at some locations.

My first question is SQL. I see VEM supports Express or SQL Server. In what case would I want to run the full edition vs Express for VEM?

Second, each VBR server will need SQL, can they be a mix of Express and Enterprise? On my existing VBR server, I only had to upgrade from Express due to a high number of file to tape jobs. I don't expect that to be a problem at most sites, so my preference would be Express as default and migrate as necessary.

Or is the expectation that the Enterprise Manager server runs a full SQL and all the VBR servers use that instead?
Mildur
Product Manager
Liked: 2294 times
Full Name: Fabian K.

Re: Setting up Enterprise Manager

Post by Mildur »

Hi Bryan

How is the connection between the different locations? Are you using VPN connection or is it NAT?
Are you a registered Service Provider? If yes, there is also another console you could use for some tasks. The Veeam Service Provider Console.
My first question is SQL. I see VEM supports Express or SQL Server. In what case would I want to run the full edition vs Express for VEM?
Our Best Practice Guide writes about 10GB for 500 VMs and sometimes 50-100% additional space when you upgrade the product.