Discussions related to using object storage as a backup target.
jfs
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: John Stoffel

Can I copy RMAN jobs with Veeam Cloud Copy in V11?

Post by jfs »

Hi,
I'm a new Veeam Admin and I'm trying to setup our Veeam v11 instance to copy jobs using the Veeam Cloud Copy to an S3 Cloud provider. This is working just fine for my regular backup jobs, but I can't see any way to take Oracle RMAN plug-in jobs which are run by the Oracle DBA on the Oracle host, to allow them to be copied to the Cloud. In the docs at this URL https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=110 there is a big note that:
IMPORTANT

For Veeam Plug-in backup copy jobs, you cannot select a Veeam Cloud Connect repository as a backup copy target.
Do I need to have my DBA run his RMAN jobs as two seperate jobs pointing at both my local file repository, and also to my cloud repository? Is there no way to be able to copy a job from the disk repository to the cloud? Or does that copy need to be setup and configured at the Oracle Plug-in end of things?

John
Mildur
Product Manager
Liked: 2223 times
Full Name: Fabian K.

Re: Can I copy RMAN jobs with Veeam Cloud Copy in V11?

Post by Mildur »

Hi John

Do we talk about Veeam Cloud Connect or a SOBR with object storage (s3, aws or azure blob)? They are different target repositories types.

Object storage will work for rman plugin backup files.
Please see the limitations:
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... acity-tier

Thanks
Fabian
Product Management Analyst @ Veeam Software
jfs
Novice

Post by jfs »

So I've just tried setting up a SOBR, since I figured that would let me copy the data in the local repo to the cloud, but no luck. I got a message when I tried to at the Repo holding the Oracle RMAN backups which said:

"Unable to add extent VEEAM_REP_01 because it contains one or more backup files which are not supported by a scale-out backup repository."