Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Asder
Novice
Liked: never

Backup plan for 3-5 years

Post by Asder »

Hi,
I'm new to veeam backup software, just hope somebody can give me some advice or plan.

Now moving from other big beckup software C. I have to store lot of backups for years...
I have to make full backup of multiple vmware virtual machines once a week and incremental all other 6 days. Store them for 1 month on disks and after that on tapes.
ButI don't have so much space on storage to have non-deduped 5 fulls and 25 increments.
I can't understand what configuration to use without global dedup in veeam. 4-5full backups which are not deduped for whole month are very "heavy"...
Tried to use windows server deduplication but without success.. Now I'm going to disable compressing in backups, hope it will make windows dedup able to work.
What type of full backups is better to use in such case?If I use synt fulls and write everything to tapes - will it be possible to restore backup for ANY day, for example 3 years ago?
HannesK
Product Manager
Liked: 2895 times
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick

Re: Backup plan for 3-5 years

Post by HannesK » 1 person likes this post

Hello,
and welcome to the forums.

For customers who are new with Veeam, I always recommend the quick start guide
I can't understand what configuration to use without global dedup in veeam
XFS or REFS file system with synthetic full backups

Windows deduplication makes no sense, agree (there is actually a warning if somebody is using NTFS instead of REFS)
If I use synt fulls and write everything to tapes - will it be possible to restore backup for ANY day, for example 3 years ago?
if you have enough tapes, then yes :-) I believe, most customers don't do such things, but from a product perspective it's possible. Just define the "protect data for" 36 months (GFS media pools daily retention only allows 999 days, that's why I suggest a standard media pool)

Best regards,
Hannes
Asder
Novice