Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
homerjnick
Expert
Liked: 35 times
Full Name: Nick Mahlitz

Scheduling a SureBackup

Post by homerjnick »

Hi there...I'm new to Veeam and we have recently deployed it...no issues and works fine...it is a great solution for our virtual backups and replication.

A quick question on SureBackups.

Yesterday I created my first Applications Group and Virtual Lab and tested restoring an email from the latest backup of our virtual Exchange server and it worked a treat...it takes 30 minutes to powered up 2 domain controllers and then the Exchange itself before you can restore.

Currently we use CommVault to restore emails for users but we do not have the facility to search by sender, subject etc and thus require the user to tell us when it was either received or deleted.

Our first line support will benefit by using Veeam to restore emails but having to wait 30 minutes each time the lab does its work is not feasible.

I noticed you can schedule a SureBackup to start but can you schedule for it to stop?

I assume the best method here would be to start a SureBackup job in the morning before our core Helpdesk is active and leave it running all day so first line support can restore emails from the powered on cloaked backup of Exchange but naturally I would want to power it down after core hours.

Can I do this automatically? Or I am going about this the wrong way?

PS. We are a small company of around 250 employees and thus cannot afford more expensive solutions! We were quoted at £20,000 to enable CommVault to index the Exchange server...
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6646 times

Re: Scheduling a SureBackup

Post by Gostev »

homerjnick wrote:I assume the best method here would be to start a SureBackup job in the morning before our core Helpdesk is active and leave it running all day so first line support can restore emails from the powered on cloaked backup of Exchange but naturally I would want to power it down after core hours.