PowerShell script exchange
BB_GSY
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Brendan B

Extract Files to be processed from tape job

Post by BB_GSY »

Hello all.

I have been using file to tape for many years to do monthly air-gaped backups to tape. For each backup imutable copy we add the relevant monthly VBK to the file job and process. Works very well as using integrated tape wont work in our requirments.

However v12 now introduces per-VM backup copy jobs. So rather than 1 large VBK have now have many smaller ones. In order to ensure I capture the relevant files I indent to use the file mask to get the relevant files for the backup folder i.e. *2023-02-28*.vbk This will work.

Is there a powershell which for a given job will enumerate the files to be backed up so I can confirm my selections are valid? When selected single files, you know they are there by virtue of selecting them. By using a file mask, I introduce the opportunity for a typo.

Since the folder path will be the same each month, I know only need to change the mask to pickcup of the relevamt 'WM' retained files.
A powershell script once I have made the selections would be very useful.

Thanks in advance. BB
david.domask
Veeam Software
Liked: 323 times

Re: Extract Files to be processed from tape job

Post by david.domask »

Heya @BB_GSY,

First, small note; Per-VM backups have existing for some time; v12 introduced _True Per-VM_, meaning that each backup chain (set of VBKs and their dependent increments) are truly independent of one another, whereas previously they were all under the same "backup umbrella" so to speak and couldn't easily be separated.

Can I ask, are you using File to Tape for your backups because of the Edition limitation? (Standard versus Enterprise (Plus)) I ask because with Backup to Tape jobs, this simplifies your request very much so as you don't have to worry, the Backup to Tape system will handle ensuring the right backups go to tape.