Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
nitrouz
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Josh

Testing - Can delete files flagged as immutable?

Post by nitrouz »

Hi All,

I'm new to linux and using RHEL 8. I am logged into an account which was an admin in order to use as a single use credential for deployment then changed to standard account. This account has ownership over the mounted disk being used. I have files flagged as immutable which I cant delete using rm terminal command. Can confirm the file has the lower case "i" attribute. If i try rmdir --ignore-fail-on-non-empty, the command executes without error but the directory remains with files intact, however I seem to be able to delete the parent directory of the immutable file by trashing it in the GUI and then emptying the trash. How is this possible if the file is meant to be immutable?
Mildur
Product Manager
Liked: 2296 times
Full Name: Fabian K.

Re: Testing - Can delete files flagged as immutable?

Post by Mildur » 1 person likes this post

Hi Josh
however I seem to be able to delete the parent directory of the immutable file by trashing it in the GUI and then emptying the trash. How is this possible if the file is meant to be immutable?
Could you please provide more details? Which GUI are you referring to? Ubuntu GNOME or similar? Or the Veeam console?
How is this possible if the file is meant to be immutable?
A root user or a user with sudo permissions can always overwrite the immutable flag for those files. I can only assume that the GUI you mentioned might be somehow bypassing this protection by running commands under a privileged account (which is never possible from the Veeam console).