Maintain control of your Microsoft 365 data
kirderf
Influencer
Liked: 2 times
Full Name: Fredrik Kristensen

Single or multiple buckets - best practices?

Post by kirderf »

Hi guys,

I'm setting up on-prem S3-compatible object storage with MinIO for our backup of MS365. We have multiple proxies, hence multiple repositories. My question is whether I should create individual buckets for each repository or use a single bucket shared among them?

I have looked at the deployment guide but couldn't find a specific answer. If using one bucket is feasible, what are the pros and cons? For example, is data migration between repositories easier if they share the same bucket? I want to do it right from the start, so I don't make a decision now that will have a long-term negative impact. I am completely new to object storage, so I apologize if the answer to my questions are obvious. Appreciate all the input anyone has! :D
IT adviser
Data Center Operations
Mildur
Product Manager
Liked: 2294 times
Full Name: Fabian K.

Re: Single or multiple buckets - best practices?

Post by Mildur » 1 person likes this post

Hi Fredrik

I would personally prefer multiple buckets instead of a single one. Some object storage appliances have a limit on how many objects they can manage. Utilizing dedicated buckets reduces the likelihood of potential performance impacts in the future due to object count limitations.

We also recommend separate buckets in our best practice guide:
https://bp.veeam.com/vb365/guide/buildc ... orage.html
For example, is data migration between repositories easier if they share the same bucket?
Data Migration between object storage repositories is not supported. This won't have an affect on the chosen design.