PowerShell script exchange
unmaximized
Novice
Liked: never

Detect end of weekly full backup

Post by unmaximized »

Hi everyone,

i need to write a Script that needs to activate something else (currently it just sends me a mail) once the weekly backup finished, but i can't get the timing right. The jobs are managed by our GFS media pool. As i am currently a beginner with using Veeam, my solutiion is the following:
  • script runs every time a job finishes
  • checks whether the job was for the weekly mediaset
  • if yes, adds the jobs name to a list
  • checks whether all backup jobs have been entered into the list
  • if yes, sends the mail
jobs for the weekly mediaset can run from friday to monday, sometimes multiple times

The Problem is: Since the jobs can sometimes run multiple times, the script could, for example, send my mail an on saturday because every job ran once and then a job runs a second time on sunday. So i didn't actually detect when the backup is finished but randomly cut it off in the middle.

I checked the properties for mediasets, mediapools, libraries and jobs but didn't find any way to see whether a job has run the last time for this cycle and googling sadly did not help either.
Is there a way to do this? Personally i think i am on the right path, but since i am a beginner, i might have totally missed a better solution. If you need any information, i'll try my best to add it asap.

Thanks a lot :?
david.domask
Veeam Software
Liked: 322 times

Re: Detect end of weekly full backup

Post by david.domask »

Hi @unmaximized,

I'm not quite sure I get the exact business logic you're needing here but as I understand it, you're needing to know how to determine if a job will be retried or if it's on its final run? Am I correct?