Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
roadking
Enthusiast
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Robert Martin

Backup overlap then hanging

Post by roadking »

So I'm new to Veeam Backups and running version 6 patch 3 and finding some interesting events

-- I have two backup proxies - one on the backup server itself (a vm), one on another VM
-- I'm running backups on the weekends only. These are reverse incremental jobs with a single full
-- I have tried to spread them out based on how many nodes are in the jobs and how long the incremental may take
-- some are spread out 4 - 5 hours apart yet due to unknown circumstances they inevitably end up overlapping
-- after several hours elapse, more jobs start based on the schedule then they overlap the ones that are still running
-- I had configured the backups to alternate the proxy servers so that IF there was an overlap, then the backups 'should' continue to work
-- what ends up happening is that all jobs end up hanging and I have to restart services to get the jobs to stop

I have read on numerous threads here that I should be able to start all the jobs at once and they will wait until they have resources to begin running. I have yet to experience this.

I can however re-run the jobs manually -- one at a time and they always finish without an error. This only occurs when multiple jobs are scheduled then overlap one another. Then they seem to get tripped up on one another and fail.

I am now trying to run the jobs with post job activities and including the next job in the line so that after one job completes - however long that may take - then the others will start in order.

Is there a best practice for job scheduling or could there be something wrong in the setup I have?

Thanks - and bear with me as I'm still new to this.
dellock6
VeeaMVP
Liked: 1928 times
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: Backup overlap then hanging

Post by dellock6 » 1 person likes this post