Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
Simonx182
Influencer
Liked: 3 times
Full Name: Simon Tauber

Local Storage and iSCSI Backup Advices

Post by Simonx182 »

Hello,

I'm new to the veeam world and plan to use it for a couple of our customers. Most customers have small installations with 2 ESX Hosts (ca. 7 VM's). VM's are stored on the local disks of the hosts, no SAN/FC. I'm planning to licence the ESX hosts with VMware essentials and use Veeam essentials to backup them to a iSCSI Nas (Qnap) via 1 Gigabit Ethernet.
Actually I'm backing up the machines via BackupExec Remote Agents to tape and wanted to use veeam as a second backup to minimize the restore times. Server VM's are running 2003/200 R2 with Exchange, SQL ,Sharepoint...

What are your advises about best performance for backup and restore?
Should I install veeam in a VM on both ESX hosts and start backups from there to the iSCSI NAS?
If one ESX Host goes down, am I able in this constelation to start the backed up VM's stored on the NAS on the second ESX?
Is it recomended to use separate NIC's on the ESX Hosts and a second switch with jumbo Frames enabled to get better performances?
Is Veeam essentials able to do these backups without big problems on Exchange or SQL, or do I have to use the veeam essentials plus (enterprise) version?
In the future for other customers: Do I still need backupExec or do you recomend using only veeam and invest the money in the enterprise version?

Thanks for your time.

Regards
Simon
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Local Storage and iSCSI Backup Advices

Post by foggy »

Simon, welcome to Veeam Community forums! Please find some answers below.
Simonx182 wrote:Should I install veeam in a VM on both ESX hosts and start backups from there to the iSCSI NAS?