VMware monitoring with HP Operations Manager
dannywang
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Danny Wang

Question regarding V-SPI features

Post by dannywang »

Hi:

I am new to V-SPI. My customer has the following concerns about managing V-SPI data collectors:
1. My client has 7 vCenters and over 200 ESX servers and they are adding and removing them very frequently as they consolidate their IT and move to virtualized environments. if I only configure 7 vCenters in Enterprise manager as target for the data collector and have all the ESX serves register to 7 vCenters, will the V-SPI data collector automatically populates the 200 ESX servers and management them?
2. When a new ESX host is added or removed from a vCenter, will the data collector automatically detect the change, add/remove the data collection task, and reflect topology in Enterprise Management Console asn well as HP OM server?
3. It seems that V-SPI has cluster awareness OOB and grouping them to each monitoring group which is very good. Does V-SPI also report the cluster topology as well? How about matrix, do it report matrix based on cluster? The reason is to ensure the clusters are healthy as a whole (even if a single ESX server is heavily utilized). My client actually considers this a more important metric than the health of an individual ESX host. They now have to rely on vCenter reporting to get this data.

thanks

Dan
Nick.Kordich
Enthusiast
Liked: never
Full Name: Nick Kordich

Re: Question regarding V-SPI features

Post by Nick.Kordich »

Hello Dan,

1. Yes, that's it exactly. We collect topology, performance and event data through the vCenter servers, so you only need to configure the 7 vCenter connections.

2. Yes, so long as there are sufficient licenses, the default is to extend monitoring to additional hosts automatically.