Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
jeremipdx
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Jeremi Green

Failing over to replicated site

Post by jeremipdx »

Hey everyone,

I'm a Veeam newbie and just started backing up and replicating our production environments with Veeam. So far so good, but one thing I'm having trouble understanding is the process of failing over to our DR site in a disaster situation. All the documentation says you need to initiate a fail over from the Veeam application. I figure this is so tit can keep track of all the changes on the replicated VM side and make it easy to fail back without losing data. However, if your primary data center is leveled by an earthquake you aren't going to have access to your Veeam server. Is it okay to just power on your VM's at your DR site? I assumed it would be, but there was a sentence in the deployment guide that said "If possible, avoid powering on a replica manually as it may disrupt further replication operations or cause loss of important data. It is strongly recommended to use Veeam Backup & Replication functionality to perform fail over operations." That doesn't make me feel very warm and fuzzy about my DR solution :shock:

I spoke with Miguel in support who advised you have to have access to the Veeam server, which doesn't sound right. He advised placing the server in our DR site but It does all our production backups as well so that seemed kind of odd. Any real world experience and suggestions are appreciated!
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6648 times

Re: Failing over to replicated site

Post by Gostev »

Hi Jeremi, did you read the sticky FAQ topic before posting? One of the questions there answer what specifically do you lose in case of manual failover. By the way, if your Veeam server is a VM, consider simply replicating it to your DR site along with other VMs. Thanks!
jeremipdx
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Jeremi Green

Post by jeremipdx »