Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
TwystedPair
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Matt Atkins

Veeam planning for new virtual environment

Post by TwystedPair »

I am very new to VMWare and just got our environment up and running a few weeks ago. I have the trail version of Veeam installed and have a few design questions.

Here's a little background info about my environment:
I have 3 ESXi hosts with the plan of having around 50 VMs when it's all said and done. I have an HP EVA SAN connected via Fiber with about 60TBs capacity. We are an advertising agency so we deal with very large amounts of data. I have one file server alone that stores around 22TB of data. Currently, we have 6 different file servers, most of them and the biggest ones being Mac servers. My plan is to move all of our data onto one big Windows file server. Once I reclaim some hardware for our archival system, the amount of data that I need to store in live system will be a much more manageable 15TBs or so.

Initial Veeam design questions:
First of all, I've read some conflicting views on best practice for making the Veeam server virtual or physical and am having some problems deciding which is best for my environment. In the reading that I've been doing, I think I'm ok virtualizing it and then setup a physical backup proxy directly connected to the SAN. Does that make sense?

My second question is in regards to the storage that Veeam will use for it's backups. Can I use my existing SAN or does Veeam need it's own storage? If the answer is yes, do I need to present a LUN to the ESXi hosts?

I'm sure I will have lots more questions as I really start digging in, but these questions should at least get me started.

Thanks for reading!!!!
J1mbo
Veteran
Liked: 29 times
Full Name: James Pearce

Re: Veeam planning for new virtual environment

Post by J1mbo » 1 person likes this post