PowerShell script exchange
Moebius
Veeam ProPartner
Liked: 28 times
Full Name: Lucio Mazzi

Listing all VMs and associated backup jobs

Post by Moebius »

Hello script gurus,
I'm looking for a PS script to produce an output file with the list of all VM existing on <datacenter> and the associated Veeam backup jobs, if any. Ideally the output file should look like this:

Code: Select all

VM1: JobA
VM2: JobB
VM3:
VM4: JobA, JobD
and so on. Or as an alternative, a list with all existing backup jobs and the associated VMs, but also the VMs that have no backup job associated. Something like this:

JobA: VM1, VM4
JobB: VM2
JobD: VM4
*no job*: VM3
The output should be a text file, or the script output should be redirectable to a file.
I'm an absolute beginner with PowerShell and scripts. Any help would be appreciated.
dellock6
Veeam Software
Liked: 1928 times
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: Listing all VMs and associated backup jobs

Post by dellock6 »

Hi Lucio,
even if not the exact same thing, take a look at this thread:
http://forums.veeam.com/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=12714
the script lists all VM that have a backup in the last XX hours, so you can identify easily which VMs are not under backup. This is a part of your needs.

Luca.
Luca Dell'Oca
Principal EMEA Cloud Architect @ Veeam Software

@dellock6
https://www.virtualtothecore.com/
vExpert 2011 -> 2022
Veeam VMCE #1
tsightler
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2842 times
Full Name: Tom Sightler

Post by tsightler »

And I do plan to extend that script with job information when I get a few minutes.
Moebius
Veeam ProPartner

Post by Moebius »

Thanks Luca and Tom. As a matter of fact I have already tried out, and partially used, both your scripts - but had missed yet the last contribution to that thread.
The problem in my case is that I have broadly divided the VMs into several groups and jobs:
- VMs to back up daily,
- VMs to back up weekly,
- VMs to back up monthly,