Host-based backup of Microsoft Hyper-V VMs.
SteveP
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Steve Papanchev

Cannot install Hyper-V Integration component

Post by SteveP »

Hello All,

Total Veeam B&R newbie here, so please excuse me if I've missed something basic!

I am trying to evaluate B&R for our Hyper-V environment (host is Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 box, which is also a domain controller).

The installation of the B&R core has gone OK on my Windows 2003 x64 server (also a DC), but when it comes to installing the Hyper-V Integration service on the 2008 R2 Hyper-V host, it always fails.

I have tried installing the Hyper-V Integration component both from within the Veeam console (i.e. remotely), and natively by running the .msi installer on the Hyper-V host, but it always ends with the error message: 'The wizard was interrupted before Veeam Hyper-V Integration could be completely installed. Your system has not been modified.'

I have looked on the Internet and these forums for similar errors, but nothing seems to match.

File & Printer sharing are enabled on the host (even though it has no printers installed), as I saw that this was a pre-requisite.

I have opened a case with Veeam Support (case #5219093), but since I'm only evaluating the software I'm not sure this will be a priority for them :?

Is this to do with the fact that my host is a DC - I never found a definitive answer - again, apologies if I've missed it?

Thanks in advance,
Steve
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6647 times

Re: Cannot install Hyper-V Integration component

Post by Gostev »

Hello Steve, not sure - I have not seen this issue reported before either. Might be due to DC indeed, or could be that some 3rd party software is causing it - for example, antivirus. Let's see what our support says (your support case gets normal priority). Thanks for including the support case ID!
SteveP
Novice

Post by SteveP »

Hi Anton