Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
kano666
Novice
Liked: never

Source bottleneck - Odd

Post by kano666 »

Hi

We have vSphere 4.0 and Veeam B&R 6.1 installed on a Server 2008 VM.

Our VMs are all running on the same datastore which is made up from several LUNs on the same RAID group on a iSCSI SAN.

We are seeing an odd problem whereby the backups never go above about 25 Mb/sec and Veeam is reporting the Source as the bottleneck. Which initially i thought OK the SAN is performing rather poorly but whatever....but then i started another couple of backup jobs at the same time, all for VMs running on the same storage and the performance of the first is not effected and the total rate was about 70Mb/Sec.

Is there a limit somewhere in veeam for the speed of a job? It seems odd that the source is reported as the bottleneck when the source was clearly able to provide more bandwidth as evidenced by the other jobs not impacting on the speed of each other?

I am a complete noob to veeam so i could well have set things up wrong or missing something obvious!

cheers in advance
nielsengelen

Re: Source bottleneck - Odd

Post by nielsengelen »

There is no limit defined in Veeam. Which type of SAN are you using? How is this SAN designed (RAID10, RAID50,...)

In which way are your backups build up? Incremental, reversed incremental,...
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Andy,

Try to apply these recommendations, should increase the overall performance of your backup jobs:
Improving direct-from-SAN backup speed with iSCSI SAN

Thanks!
kano666
Novice

Post by kano666 »

None of the tips really worked for me.

I have noticed that I get very poor performance when downloading/uploading a file from my hosts using the vmware vsphere client which may be the root cause of the backup being slow. I am on vsphere 4.0.
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov