PowerShell script exchange
GB@CFS
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Gil Blumberg

Scheduled task to report on running backup jobs

Post by GB@CFS »

Hi,

I want to write a script that will return the details of any running SureBackup jobs. I know that using the VEEAM powershell, I can get the status of jobs simply with Get-VBRJob.
However, as it needs to be scheduled, I'll need to add the snap-in first to the Windows Powershell. After doing so and running the same command, the result is very detailed for each job, in which none of the values contain the state of the job, which is the basis for this script.

Does anyone have any experience in this?

Cheers,
GB
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2710 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Scheduled task to report on running backup jobs

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Gil,

I'm not a PowerShell expert, but I believe you can determine the job current state from this script (at least it worked well for previous versions of Veeam B&R):

Code: Select all

(Get-VBRJob JobName).GetStatus()
Thanks!
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Post by veremin » 1 person likes this post

Hi.

As far as I can understand, GetStatus() method doesn’t exist any longer, it’s GetLastState() which is now playing such role. Moreover, there is separate cmdlet responsible for getting SureBackup Jobs, which stands for Get-VSBJob.

So, if I were you and if I wanted display data on my screen, I’d write something like this:

asnp VeeamPSSnapin
$jobs = Get-VSBJob
foreach($jobtoshow in $jobs)
{
 Write-Host($jobtoshow.name, $jobtoshow.GetLastState())
} 
And I’d play a little bit with Export cmdlet, if I wanted to output information regarding SBJob’s status in file.

Hope this helps
Thanks.
GB@CFS
Novice

Post by GB@CFS »

Thanks, that is exactly what I need.