Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
scottstabb
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Scott Stabb

1 year retention in the cloud

Post by scottstabb »

case ID 00162944
I dont know were to start. I am new to VMWare, Veeam and TwinStrata I want to use get my backups offsite probably using TwinStrata and S3.
I have a little less than 1TB that compresses down to less than 400GB using Veeam that consists of 12 VMs and my daily change files are about 3 to 7 GB compressed. I have a dedicated Cable connection with about 6m upload speed.

I have my local backups under control, but I need a way to get some retention off site and be able to recover entire VMs if necessary. If I send a full backup each month it will take a couple of weeks to get there and several TB by the end of the 13 Months. (this is how it was done on tape)
Our policy is to be keep Monthly backups for 13 months and the monthly backups need to be kept off site.
Our local policy is backing up on a NAS and I can go back for several weeks on a daily basis.

I really don't know where to start I would like to think I could have a full backup in the cloud and send the changes monthly. Or even weekly Maybe.
Was I supposed to open a case for this since it was non technical?

Many thanks!
pendragoncrw
Enthusiast
Liked: 3 times
Full Name: C White

Re: 1 year retention in the cloud

Post by pendragoncrw »

I am also very curious in what people are using to obtain cloud backups using Veeam and TwinStrata. If I understand the TwinStrata architecture correctly, you map what would be your NAS (or local storage, etc.) as a VMWare datastore, add a volume on that datastore to the TwinStrata box, and use the TwinStrata box as the local storage for Veeam.

Once we get to the cloud storage part, it seems very difficult to estimate what normal usage would be. I like to use reverse incrementals for my NAS storage but it seems like forward incrementals would make the most sense for cloud storage.

Inquiring minds are curious.