Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
Joris85
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Joris Syen

What is the best way to backup/replicate this simple system?

Post by Joris85 »

Good day all,

I am new to the VEEAM experience, but have experience with VMWare.
Today we have a system that contains of 1 VM-host (vSphere 4.0 Essentials Plus) with local storage that contains 4 Virtual (W2008) Servers and 4x1Gb ethernet Ports.

One of those Virtuals Servers has VEEAM Backup and Replication installed.
The VEEAM Backup and Replication software takes backups of all Server to a NAS that is directly connected to the Server (Netgear) and that has a network folder.
This works perfectly.

Now we are asked make a quote to improve this system, also in terms of redundancy.
Because of the already available licenses, I thought of doing this:

1. Buy a new VM-Server that will be used as a hot-standby, connected to the existing VM by Ethernet, using vCenter 4.0
2. Configure VEEAM for (contineous?) replication (of all 4 servers, including itself) to that Server
3. Keep taking the backups to the NAS

Is this a good idea? Will this be possible?
Do you need ISCSI for this (I am not experienced in this matter)?
Do I need additional OS licenses for this?
Can I replicate the VEEAM backup machine itself to the 2nd host?
If the 1st hosts goes down, will the Host that contains the replicated machines start them automatically?
Or there better solutions for this? Or where to find more information?
I could not find a architecture like this on the internet, they always seem to have the VEEAM backup on a seperate machine.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Best Regards,

Joris
Joris85
Novice

Re: What is the best way to backup/replicate this simple sys

Post by Joris85 »

The version of VEEAM installed =

Full license
Licensed sockets: 2 (2 in use, remain 0)
Edition: Standard

So I am not sure for the system above I will need an additional Veeam license?
dellock6
Veeam Software
Liked: 1928 times