Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
jbarrow.viracoribt
Expert
Liked: 18 times
Full Name: Jonathan Barrow

Backup Proxy NIC Bottleneck

Post by jbarrow.viracoribt »

Hi there.

I'm new to replicating with this product. I have a production vCenter environment and a backup environment in another building. Both environments have identical Cisco UCS blades running ESXi 5.1, and identical SAN's.

Since my production and backup networks are on the same fibre network. I decided to go with only one physical proxy server. This proxy has direct access to both my production and backup SAN's. I did try the two proxy method and backups were slower. I think that was because the proxy at the production site was sending data over Ethernet to the proxy at the DR site which was slowing things down.

So, replication jobs are running, but I seem to be limited by the Ethernet speeds in my proxy server. While a replication job is running I see traffic on the NIC (I only have one connected right now) shoot to 100% for the length of the replication job. When I use TCPView to see what's going on I see that the VeeamAgent.exe process is receiving tons of data from the originating ESXi host.

So my question what should I do here? Can the ESXi hosts and the proxy servers communicate over fibre channel? I really want to get all of my data transfers for replication off my Ethernet network if at all possible.

Thanks in advance.
tsightler
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2843 times
Full Name: Tom Sightler

Re: Backup Proxy NIC Bottleneck

Post by tsightler »

Direct SAN can be used to read data, but cannot be used to write data on the target. You can see what mode is being used by looking at the job stats screen. Highlight the VM and the first few lines of the log will look something like this:

Code: Select all

2/15/2013 12:01:23 AM :: Using source proxy <name_of_proxy> [san]
2/15/2013 12:01:23 AM :: Using target proxy <name_of_proxy> [nbd]