Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
mjgreen81
Enthusiast
Liked: 2 times
Full Name: Mike Green

SureBackup & U-AIR hand holding

Post by mjgreen81 »

Hi All,

I am new to Veeam backup and am currently trying to configure the U-AIR wizards to allow me to restore individual Exchange items etc (and eventually SQl & AD). We don't have an enterprise server so I will be looking to do everything on the one server, bypassing the virtual lab approval process.

I am making some good progress but just need some hand-holding while i go through the configuration, hopefully you guys can help me with that!

So far I have setup:

An Application Group
A Virtual Lab
And I have just finished setting up my SureBackup which is set to run for the first time tonight.

Ideally I would quite like to test this today but I am worried about the impact running a surebackup job during working hours would have? As the SureBackup job us is running in the Virtual Lab I am guessing this has no effect on the 'live' vm's?

Should I wait for the this to happen overnight or is it safe to run the surebackup job during working hours? I just cant quite get my head around what the surebackup job does and whether it uses the .VBK & .VRB backup files or the 'live' VM's.

Any advise appreciated.
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: SureBackup & U-AIR hand holding

Post by foggy »

Mike, if you are concerned about overlapping backup and SureBackup jobs, then backup job will automatically stop any running SureBackup jobs which are locking the backup files that it needs to update (so backup jobs will always complete fine). No impact on production in terms of performance also, unless you are storing backups on production storage or have limited hardware resources.

I would recommend to review the sticky FAQ and product user guide for better understanding of how SureBackup works.
mjgreen81
Enthusiast

Post by mjgreen81 »