Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
vgeek
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Josue Del Valle

Exchange 2010 Backup and LUN architecture

Post by vgeek »

Hi,

I am in the process of starting virtualizing Exchange 2010 and I want to make sure that my planned LUN architecture will not cause problems with Veeam backup.
I am planning to create a 1:1 LUN to DB, LUN to Transactional Logs configuration with two DBs and I wasn't sure if this would cause any problems with the way Exchange will be backed up by Veeam. I am still learning virtualization and Veeam and by no mean am an expert in Data Storage so your recommendation will be appreciated. I am also planning to have a couple of personal archive DBs.
Cokovic
Veteran
Liked: 59 times
Full Name: Haris Cokovic

Re: Exchange 2010 Backup and LUN architecture

Post by Cokovic »

Shouldn't be a problem at all. One of our biggest VMs is a member of an Exchange DAG cluster having 19 LUNs with 19 VMDKs connected. Every VMDK is on it's own LUN and backup ran fine.
jbarrow.viracoribt
Expert
Liked: 18 times
Full Name: Jonathan Barrow

Post by jbarrow.viracoribt »

I'm struggling with Exchange. Snapshotting is not support on Exchange per Microsoft. I found this out while looking into why my users seem to be disconnected from our mailbox server when a backup is ran on that server, and a snapshot is created. All of my end users report their Outlook asking for a password randomly which led us to research this. It looks to be something related to the snapshot process. It's not all the time though. For instance, our mailbox server was part of a job that was replicating hourly, this didn't cause the Outlook password issue, but the backup I ran last night sure did, right as the snapshot was created via the Veeam backup request, everyone reporting Outlook prompting for a password.

These two related threads were interesting...

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/For ... 5d52b662d/