Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
grokit
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Daniel

How to rename vSphere files,folders, etc.

Post by grokit »

I am new to VEEAM. So if this is a stupid question, please forgive me.

I noticed that in Veeam Backup & Replication 6.5 I can rename files and folders in the Files section.

I can do the same in vSphere, but if I do that there, I break the configuration of VM's. That is, if I change i.e. a folder name that contains the VM in a certain datastore, the VM won't start anymore.

I really hoped that with Veeam I could safely rename Datastore, Folder, Filenames and the VM's would still run. Unfortunately, the result of changing folder and filenames in veeam is the same as in vSphere.

Not sure why Veeam (and vSphere) allow to change names if the VM's would not run afterwards?

Anyway, is there an understandable description somewhere which tells me how to rename VM's, files, folders and datastores without breaking VM functionality?
I found some hints that vMotion has bugs related to renaming and some other hints about using commandline tools (mv(1), etc.)

Or, ideally, there is some script using either Veeam or vSphere which would do that for me?

I need to clean up some datastore/folders/file names.

Thanks for any hint.

Regards
Dan
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: How to rename vSphere files,folders, etc.

Post by veremin »

I really hoped that with Veeam I could safely rename Datastore, Folder, Filenames and the VM's would still run.
In fact, it can’t be done by the means of Veeam Backup and Replication.
Anyway, is there an understandable description somewhere which tells me how to rename VM's, files, folders and datastores without breaking VM functionality?