Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
Rumple
Service Provider
Liked: 14 times
Full Name: Mark Hodges

Home Lab licensing for consultants

Post by Rumple »

So, I've recently been advised that veeam no longer cares about consultants who promoting their product by implementing a new partner program that basically removes the NFR keys from the silver level program and only provides them to 500k+ resellers of their product.

As a consultant, my job is to know various products and provide clients with options. I do NOT resell the products as thats a conflict of interest and a breach of trust I have with my clients.
I've been following and using Veeam since they were in diapers but apparently like a parent, I'm not longer needed to help them succeed in life.

so, i have 12 servers sitting in my home/office lab, This lab is for products that are essentially a learing platform to ensure I learn the products, can speak intelligently and implement them in a professional manner. Since I can't afford to purchase every licensed product from every vendor, I've relied on the NFR keys to accomplish this goal.

What are others doing in their Lab environments. Currently I have Veeam (or did but apparently no more), PHD, and vRanger...I've played with Trilead but its more a toy then anything....
tsightler
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2843 times
Full Name: Tom Sightler

Re: Home Lab licensing for consultants

Post by tsightler » 2 people like this post

Assuming you have a VMware or Microsoft professional certification you can get a free "professional" NFR key.

http://www.veeam.com/nfr/free-nfr-license

It's only 2 sockets, but that's at least enough to play with the product in your home lab.
chrisdearden
Veteran
Liked: 226 times
Full Name: Chris Dearden

Post by chrisdearden »