Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
ogodt
Novice
Liked: never

Backup strategy plan.

Post by ogodt »

Hi all,

i need some help with some ideas for a backup strategy, i'm pretty new in the vmware/veeam World - but are learning every day :D

Our setup is:

3 ESX host with 10 VM's
3 LUN with total 3,3 TB + 1 LUN with 280 GB for our Microsoft Dynamic NAV 2009 server. (all placed on HP P2000 G3 SAN )
1 VEEAM BR 6.5 server with 840 GB backup disks
1 QNAP TS-869 PRO NAS with 8,3 TB (at this time 7,2 TB free space)

We currently have 2 backup jobs were one is our production backup with all our VM's in it, we take backup every day and keep restore point 14 days back on our QNAP, The job runs reversed incremental,
the second job is a SureBackUp job who tests our Dynamic NAV, Exchange 2007, DC and file server (it runs perfect and Works.)

We currently also make tape backup with Symantec, our plan is to skip tape and also have a Cloud backup.

And now to our wishes, we think that our production job is most for the case of recovery of VM's, what we need is the ability to recover e-mails/files from the fileserver maybe month back,
is there a "best pratice" or anything for this, i am thinking something like make a new backup job with backup every day for 31 days and maybe 1 job for every sunday for 2-3 month and a monthly job for 12 month,
but what is the best setup of such a job or is there any other way to do it, the only servers i need in this job is our Exchange 2007 and our fileserver (Windows 2008).

I hope there is someone who have some knowledge that can help me further.

\Ole
dellock6
Veeam Software
Liked: 1928 times
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: Backup strategy plan.

Post by dellock6 »