Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
BobMurray
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Bob Murray

Newbie question

Post by BobMurray »

Hi , I am new to Veeam backup and replication. I have studied the material and watched the videos however I was wondering if I could explain what I am doing and how I plan to do this just so one of the veterans can offer some input, I would appreciate this.

I have 2 x ESXi Standard Hosts. No vcentre. I have 7 Virtual machines. I have a DR site. I want to backup locally and also replicate to the DR site so I plan on the following.

Deploy a Synlogy NAS into my iSCSI fabric in my Main site. Have Veeam Backup and Replication on a physical host and connect this into the iSCSI using an iSCSI initiator. The physical Server will be the Backup and Proxy.

So far is this ok? can I have the backup and proxy on the same device?

I will then put a Synlogy NAS in my DR Site and put Veeam Backup and Replication on a Physical server in the DR site that also runs the proxy and backup server for Veeam. This means that my VM backups are replicated to my DR site so I can restore from my Synlogy device to my DR ESXi host. I can also restore from my main site if needed.

Is this accurate ? Can anyone make any better suggestions, the environment is far from complex. Just to note that the DR ESXi server has DAS, the Main site uses an iSCSI SAN.
dellock6
VeeaMVP
Liked: 1932 times
Full Name: Luca Dell'Oca

Re: Newbie question

Post by dellock6 »

Hi Bob,
Not sure what you mean by "backup" role, but console, proxy and repository roles can be installed in the same VM, no problem.
Two proxies at both sides of a wan are for replica, not for backup jobs. For backup jobs you need only one proxy, and a repository at the other side.

But, since you have another ESXi server at DR site, I must suppose you want to replicate VM there, so I can suggest you a simpler solution: