Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
jwallen21
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Jason Allen

Backup VM's by VMware attributes/tables

Post by jwallen21 »

Hello Everyone,

I am fairly new on here. Currently i have 2 proxy servers and plan on adding at least one more proxy. I have been playing around with veeam for a couple of weeks now currently on 6.5.128. I have been working with netbackup for about 3 years and just convinced management that Veeam is alot better product for vitalization. So there is one item that i really liked about that product in netbackup they have a section that allows you to query VMware and only backup up with certain attributes which saves alot of time for my team. We have a 300 plus VM infrastructure and don't need to manually add new server every time we build a new server. Right now i am grouping the vms using pools but the way i see veeam works is every job only backs up one server at a time. I need to lessen the groups by Has anyone messed with the power shell enough to be able to query VMware and backup vm's by several different attributives.For example i would like to backup VM's by pool but omit servers with independent drives in the backup.
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2258 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup VM's by VMware attributes/tables

Post by veremin »

Previously I’ve written two separate script, one of which is responsible for VM independent disk checking, the other for excluding VM objects.

So, it might be worth taking a look at them as a first point of your search. Otherwise, a little bit later I can try to combine them in one script that is likely to meet your expectations.

Hope this helps.
Thanks.
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2258 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Backup VM's by VMware attributes/tables

Post by veremin »

So, here is a combined version of the two scripts mentioned above:

Code: Select all

Asnp VMware.VimAutomation.Core
Asnp VeeamPSSnapin