Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
PBGBob
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Robert J Collins

File server backup plus its shared files?

Post by PBGBob »

I am quite new to Veeam so please be gentle.

I am setting up our first Veeam install and am looking to back up a VM file server. The VM is Windows 2008 R2 on an ESXi 5 Vmware host. Connects to the san via fiber. San is for VM OSes and Files, with a CIFS file share for the backup repository. We are using 890GB of files store out of the 2.0TB available. I am curious if one backs up the VM AND the files that are shared to the network using Veeam?

I know it sounds basic, but I am not sure if that is how the backup is accomplished.

Thanks.
Bob
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: File server backup plus its shared files?

Post by foggy »

Bob, could you please clarify regarding your setup a bit? Do you have everything stored on a single SAN (ESXi primary storage, backup repository, and file storage partition)? How is the file storage mounted to the file server VM?
kjc3303
Expert
Liked: 24 times
Full Name: Kevin Clarke

Post by kjc3303 »

Hi

Yes Veeam will backup the VM(OS) and the Files (assuming its not a pRDM)

Couple of points

-From reading you post it looks like you are backing up to the same storage as you production storage - not good practice for obvious reasons lose the storage and you lose everything
-you may struggle to store any decent amount of backup history with the amount of free space you have
- you will have to allocate x amount of space to your backup repository which will limit the size your production can grow to.

I would recommend offloading you backups to different storage.

Kev

Kev
PBGBob
Novice

Post by PBGBob »

Thank you foggy and kev,

My apologies for not being clear; the SAN is for VM OS and the file storage. We have different hardware and separate network for the CIFS backup repository, so yes, the two are separate.