Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
kmile
Enthusiast
Liked: 2 times
Full Name: Kamil Smagorzewski

Veeam 6.5.0.144 Replication to DR site

Post by kmile »

Hi Everyone,

Its my first time on the forum. I have one little question.
I believe I have our offsite replication configured properly. The question is to do with 'Map replicas to existing VMs' tick box. I am using this option for the initial replication job.
Do I need to un check it after the first successful replication job? Or do I leave it there and Veeam will know what to do in the next jobs?

I would appreciate your input.

Thank you in advance,
Kamil
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Veeam 6.5.0.144 Replication to DR site

Post by veremin »

Hi, Kamil. Replica mapping is an one-time operation, so feel free to untick corresponding option, once the initial run is finished. Thanks.
kmile
Enthusiast

Post by kmile »

This was quick :) Thank you for your reply. What would happen if the option was not unticked?
Thanks
veremin
Product Manager

Post by veremin »

Actually, nothing is going to happen, even if you leave this option ticked. Thanks.
kmile
Enthusiast

Post by kmile »

Ok. Many thanks. I am quite new to replication. Am I right in thinking that the initial replication always/usually takes longer than the later incremental ones? The VM I am replicating is 670GB in total. The initial replication was done locally and then the storage with the replica has been transported to the DR site.
I started the replication over WAN yesterday, it's been going for 19 hours and it's at 70% reading 6MB/s as processing rate (bottleneck network). It processed 465GB and transferred 34.2GB. The original replica at DR site was just over a week old hence so much data to be transferred. When replicating the same VM to a local storage everyday it never exceeded 12GB, sometimes it was as little as 4GB of data transferred.