Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Backup & Replication, VMware vSphere and Microsoft Hyper-V in a single System Center Operations Manager Console
Egg
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Julian Hall

Snapshot Usage Analysis

Post by Egg »

Hi,
I'm a bit of a newbie to SCOM (including the Veeam for VMWare MP) having taken over from someone else.
I created a snapshot of a VM yesterday morning and was surprised to find an alert this morning from Veeam VMware: Virtual Machine Snapshot Usage Analysis.
I had a look at the monitor properties below which are set to the default 48 hour Snapshot Age Threshold.

<Configuration>
<SnapshotAgeThreshold>168</SnapshotAgeThreshold>
<SnapshotSizeThreshold>2048</SnapshotSizeThreshold>
<FilterExpression>
<SimpleExpression>
<ValueExpression>
<XPathQuery Type="String">Property[@Name='entityId']</XPathQuery>
</ValueExpression>
<Operator>Equal</Operator>
<ValueExpression>
<Value Type="String">$Target/Property[Type="VeeamVEVMwareLib!Veeam.Virt.Extensions.VMware.VMGUEST"]/id$</Value>
</ValueExpression>
</SimpleExpression>
</FilterExpression>
</Configuration>

I thought it best if I extend the age threshold but it won't let me, even though it says 'You can view or edit the xml and it's associated schema by clicking the button below.'
I'm not sure whether it would recognise it even if I could as it didn't wait 48 hours. Am I missing something here?
sergey.g
Veteran
Liked: 76 times
Full Name: Sergey Goncharenko

Re: Snapshot Usage Analysis

Post by sergey.g »

Hello Julian,