Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
jvinos
Novice
Liked: never

WAN acceleration set up guide

Post by jvinos »

Hi All,

I am new here :mrgreen:

Have been battling all weekend trying to figure this out. Does VEEAM have a guide from start to finish on how to set up this WAN acceleration feature.

I have opened up only the following ports:
6165, 6164, 6162, 6160, 2500, 2501, 2502, 2503.

I only want to open up the minimum required.
I started with the default 6165. This port alone is not enough.

I then read on this forum link a few more needed to be open.
http://forums.veeam.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=17770

Does WAN acceleration need a VPN, or ISP grade private network?

I am new to this product and I primarily want it due to WAN acceleration. I have a ProPartner login. I either do not know where to look or VEEAM don't document well or just assume we know all the steps (I apologise for my tone here, just been a frustrating weekend, trying to research it myself).

So far I have done:
1. The ports as mentioned.
2. Backup Job1 to local c:\backup
3. Offsite Backup Copy Job - which copies the c:\backup\ data to remote repository.
4. Before doing 2 and 3, I created two WAN accelerator (local backup server), and the other on the remote backup server. These setup went okay with no errors.

When I run the Backup Job1 it succeeds.

When I run Backup Copy Job1 it fails with the following message.

I have replaced the WAN IP below with the word "REPLACEDREMOTEIPNUMBER"

16/09/2013 12:04:25 AM :: Processing 'win2012R2' Error: Unable to initialize remote target session connection: all aliases have failed.
--tr:Failed to open WAN synchronization target.